Uniformed Groups

17th Long Eaton (St Francis) Scout Group

We have vacancies in all sections

(Beavers, Cubs, Scouts, Explorers)

for boys & girls aged 6-18 years.

Contact Mary Bradford (07752 194126)

for more details

We are also looking for adults to help

provide the Fun, Adventure and to share

their skills, especially with the Scouts

and Explorers. If you are interested

please contact Mary Bradford (07752 194126)

April 2022

Congratulations, and a Grand Howl, to Mary Bradford, who last week  received the Silver Wolf Award, which is the highest award made by The  Scout Association "for services of the most exceptional character." and  is an unrestricted gift of the Chief Scout. 

You'll know that Mary, as  Group Scout Leader, and Akela of our Parish Cub Scouts, has done a great  deal, with the leaders she works with, to make the young people of our parish a strong and vibrant part of our community. 

Richly deserved,  thank you Mary. 

July 2021 - Long Eaton Scouting Awards

This is the team from 17th Long Eaton (St Francis) with their awards. Left to right: Chris Stevens, Award for Merit; David Savill, Award for Merit; Andrew Savill, Bar to Award for Merit; Stephen Key, Award for Merit; Scott Humphrey, Chief Scout's Commendation; Peter Smith, Silver Acorn; Mike Key, Bar to Award for Merit.

As Group Scout Leader I am immensely proud of all their hard work and dedication to Scouting and to the Group.

Mary Bradford

The Chief Scout's Commendation for Good Service: Awarded in respect of not less than 5 years good service, which stands out. It should be regarded as the Chief Scout's recognition of the very real contribution made to the Scouts by the individual concerned.

The Award for Merit: Awarded for outstanding service. It implies keen, conscientious, imaginative and dedicated service over a sustained period, of at least 12 years duration (exceptionally 10).

The Bar to the Award for Merit: Awarded after at least five years of further outstanding service after receiving the Award for Merit.

The Silver Acorn: Awarded after at least 20 years’ service, which should be specially distinguished and appreciably better than outstanding.